Baking a 1/2 a Batch of Red Velvet Cupcakes

I know that trying to properly 1/2 a recipe can sometimes result in a disaster. However, I converted my recipe into a 1/2 batch. I also decided to try some substitutes I have been wanting to try.

The 1st substitute is powdered buttermilk. I only buy buttermilk for baking and sometimes I am out and hate to have to go to the store just for that. I purchased this powdered buttermilk for those times.

20131102-165217.jpg

The 2nd substitute is gel red food color. I have always used liquid food color and wanted to see how the gel worked. My concern is whether gel will affect the moistness of the cupcakes.

20131102-165616.jpg

My results:

20131102-170218.jpg

20131102-170345.jpg

Leave a Reply

